The Treasure of Loreto is the most significant part of the museum whose entire first floor is dedicated permanently to this unique collection of artwork. It goes back to an endowment around 1700 by Queen Maria Anna of Spain (1667-1740) in response to a request by her confessor, Father Gabriel Pontifeser. At his request, the Queen had the Capuchin monastery built in Chiusa/Klausen and stocked with valuable gifts. Her husband and the nobles at the Spanish soon followed her example. Its name “Treasure of Loreto” owes the collection to the circumstance that it was originally kept in the Loreto Chapel. The Treasure’s paraments (altar cloths), religious objects, paintings and other pieces of art mostly come from the workshops of Spanish and Italian artists of the 16th and 17th century. One of the showpieces of the collection is the field altar of King Charles II.