A Jewel of Art and Craftsmanship
The medieval city of Klausen/Chiusa, which is surpassed in height by the mighty Säben/Sabiona monastery mountain, proudly calls itself the "City of Dürer." Here, where the city was the scene of intense artistic activity just a hundred years ago, is where Albrecht Dürer stopped during his journey through Italy. He exploited his portrait of the city as a background for an allegorical copper-plate engraving titled "Das Grosse Glück" ("Nemesis.")
Today, Klausen/Chiusa is still numbered among the most-beautiful of Italy's ancient cities: Its tower-studded facades, its wide alcove balconies, and the picturesque signs of its old inns and pubs were all that was needed to convince the club "I borghi più belli d´Italia" of its worthiness. And the "Treasure of Loreto" (a singular collection of works of art) in the city museum has got to be seen to be believed. A visit to the Säben/Sabiona convent situated on the mountain overlooking the city will provide you with a better understanding of the local culture, as well as with breathtaking views of the surrounding landscape. This picturesque Benedictine monastery is one of the oldest place of pilgrimage and the first bishop's residence in Tyrol.
Go to All Sightseeing Destinations of the Region
This fortress was built around 1250. After the fire in the year 1671 the lock remained a ruin, until it was bought and rebuilt in the year 1895 by the well-known castle friend Dr. Otto Piper. An inspection is not possible, since the lock is inhabited by a family from Klausen.
The gothical building was established between 1467 and 1470 of master Jörg. From the outside on recognize the simple portal, the small pyramid-shaped ridge turret and that gothical five-eighth choir with the four windows. <p>Inside the church you can find some informations about the building history and the artistic equipment.
Church "Holy Andreas" at Klausen/Chiusa
The church is mentioned for the first time in the year 1208. The today lategothical building was implemented by the master Benedikt Weibhauser from Brixen and inaugurated in the year 1494. On the inside a leaflet explains the building history of the church and the artistic equipement. Holy Mass: Summer: Saturday at 7.30pm and Sunday at 9.00pm (German), Sunday at 10.30am (Italian) Winter: Saturday at 6.00pm (German)
Church "Holy Martin" at Gufidaun/Gudon
This church in Gufidaun originates from the 15th century. The cultivated vestry, also called Koburger chapel, contains a noteworthy fresco cycle of the Ambrosius Gander from the valley Jaufental. Holy Mass: Saturday at 6.00pm and Sunday at 9.00am (german)
Hill "Paterhügel" at Klausen/Chiusa
The famous hill Paterhügel rises over the garden of the Capucins. The stairway begins beside the cultural center Albrecht Dürer, below the church Loreto. The view of the little city is wonderful.
Holy Cross Curch, Monastic Church, Church Of Our Lady
Holy Cross Curch:The continuity of the cult reaches from the early Middle Ages over the Roman and gothical church to the present building, which developed around 1679. The inside surprises by the winding and ceiling paintings, which probably come from a native painter. In the apsis is the cross of the master Leonhard from Brixen. Monastic Church: The simple building established 1687 from Giovanni Delai. After a collapse a new consecration took place in 1693 . A splendourful iron lattice separates on the inside the visitor from the sister. Church Of Our Lady: The building was established by Giacomo Delai between 1652 and 1658. On the inside on can admire the cover paintings of the baroque painter Stefan Kessler, magnificent stucco works of Francesco Carlone and Simon Delai.
Hospital church / "Spitalskirche" at Klausen/Chiusa
After 1200 bishop Konrad von Rodank established a house, in order to be able to offer travelers accommodation and care - therefore the name Hospital Church. After numerous floodings only and alone the small, round place of worship kept until today.
Little church "Holy Jakob" at Latzfons/Lazfons
The church from Latzfons was mentioned for the first time in 1153 and is therefore older than the church in Klausen. The tower originates from tha 14th century and the again-gothical mechanism remained unchanged by the change in the year 1999. Holy Mass: Sunday at 9.00am (german). Summer: Saturday at 7.30pm (german)
Little Church "Holy Valentin" at Verdings/Verdignes
The nice little Roman church was mentioned for the first time in the year 1202. On the inside can be visited beautiful wall paintings. The small cemetery chapel is also worth to be visit. The realistic representation of the 4 last things and the famous Lebensrad (wheel of life) remains unforgettable. The inscription volume dates on 1736. This impressive wheel of life shows the life-way of humans from the cradle to the grave; by nothing to stop the bone man turns this fate wheel of humans. Holy Mass: Sunday at 9.00am (German)
Museum of Klausen/Chiusa
The art collection of the Museum of Klausen is located in the former Capuchin monastery. The entire first floor of the museum is dedicated to...
more about the Museum of Klausen/Chiusa
Museum of Gufidaun/Gudon
It was created in the year 1972 and was accommodated in the maintaining house. To visit are old rural utensils, an high-interesting painting collection and sakrale art.
Core of this building is a tower, which is not more recognizable however by change work and extensions. Today this Residence accomodates the Museum of Archeology, the library and an area for the village chroniclers. In the library you can visit a permanent exhibition.
Residence Koburg at Gufidaun/Gudon
This residence originates from the 14th century.
Säben/Sabiona Fortress at Klausen/Chiusa
Sabiona is the spiritual cradle of the entire Tyrol region and one of its oldest monuments. Today, the fortress is the site of the enclosed convent ...
more about monastery Säben
The Capuchin church
The Capuchin church goes also back to the donation of the Spanish queen Maria Anna (1667-1740) at the request of Father Gabriel Pontifeser ...
more about the Capuchin church
The stone "Dürerstein" at Klausen/Chiusa
One wrote the year 1494 as the young artist ALBRECHT DÜRER made a stop in Klausen during his Italy journey. Today a beautiful walk leads to these ...
more about stone "Dürerstein"
The Treasure of Loreto in the Museum of Klausen/Chiusa
The Treasure of Loreto is the most significant part of the museum whose entire first floor is dedicated permanently to this unique collection of artwork. It goes back to an endowment around 1700 by Queen Maria Anna of Spain (1667-1740) in response to a request by her confessor, Father Gabriel Pontifeser.
more about the Treasue of Loreto